about partnership

West Pennine Moors Partnership

The West Pennine Moors is managed by a partnership of seven local authorities (Blackburn with Darwen BC, Bolton Council, Bury MBC, Chorley BC, Hyndburn BC, Lancashire County Council, Rossendale BC), United Utilities Central Catchment team, regional agencies and local interest groups.

The partnership aims to:

  • Protect, conserve and enhance the natural and cultural heritage of the West Pennine Moors
  • Promote sustainable regeneration of the West Pennine Moors
  • Encourage enjoyment of the West Pennine Moors

Partnership Management and Administration

Area Management Committee

This committee is a management body that provides regular liaison between the range of partner organisations and interests in the West Pennine Moors. Membership of the group comprises Local Authority Elected Members, United Utilities and members from selected organisations.

Working Groups

This group works on developing project activity, which furthers the overall aims of the partnership. The Group manages the development and delivery of countryside management and rural regeneration projects in the West Pennine Moors.

Local Advisory Groups

Formerly known as the Recreation Management Zone Committees, the Local Advisory Groups provide a local forum for discussion and consultation, and to initiate local project development. Four groups exist to cover the entire West Pennine Moors area:

  • Darwen Moor and Hoddlesden
  • Grane and Holcombe Moor
  • Rivington and Brinscall
  • Turton and North Bolton